fa_a49_Landfall

Help make Party-approved missions harder
Aqarius
Host

fa_a49_Landfall

Post by Aqarius »

Much like in the lands of our dear friend Kim, the radios do not turn off. But at least our navy floats :laugh:
[/allegedly]

Sparks

Re: fa_a49_Landing

Post by Sparks »

From the BBC reporter's point of view, that was awesome. Forget Private Ryan, that was V Beach (read a better book :P )
I do wish you could alter the splendid camera's controls to use an inverted mouse y-axis, it mucked up smooth panning quite a bit, and not having nametags in the hud (because technically the BBC were on another side) caused me some confusion, but there were some excellent moments.

I did notice that the artillery pieces could have been destroyed though, if enough satchel charges had been around. There was time.

And dat landing... whooooo boy.
guns.ie ● stochasticgeometry.ie ● weak.ie

Don't tell mom I'm a pilot, she thinks I play piano in a whorehouse

Tigershark

Post by Tigershark »

I'm not sure this mission is achievable without some reworking. I've been through it twice now and this time as an observer from Charlie I can maybe collect my thoughts a little better.

I don't have any solutions to this but here are some of my raw observations.

1. The commute across water takes way too long and leads to most of the troops sitting there aimlessly for about 5mins+.
2. On both attempts, the CO chose a southern approach. An approach you must have predicted as the artillery script demonstrates. I can't see how another approach without alerting the enemy to the north of the tip of the island is possible. It seems like an impossible task with something like air support to help soften the LZs for troops. You would either have to kick out way west (and run into the QRF) of start at the western tip and fight a long protracted battle into base.